About me

Photo of Rebecca Peterson.
Photo credit: Danielle Barnum Photography. She is fantastic; book early.

Hello! My name is Rebecca Peterson. I am an opera singer, technical writer, and part-time coder. Inevitably, every part of my life overlaps, but this site focuses on my journey as a musician.

Caro nome (clip) from Rigoletto. Rebecca Peterson, Soprano

My work in music

I have an extensive background in music and theater (B.A. in Music, Jazz Studies minor, Bass, WSU).

During my time as a Tour Actor & Director (TAD) with Missoula Children's Theatre, my work helped to provide arts education to thousands of students in over 50 underserved communities across the US. As a TAD, I led hands-on learning experiences for students grades K-12 as a teaching artist for the touring production of The Princess and the Pea.

As a jazz vocalist, I recorded my debut album Build Your Dreams with Seattle jazz guitarist Rik Wright.

As a bassist, I've performed with the Yakima Symphony, Wenatchee Valley Symphony, and previously served as bass coach for the Icicle Creek Youth Symphony. While playing bass is not my focus these days, some of my most rewarding musical experiences happened while playing in an orchestra pit or jazz combo. The bass will always hold a special place in my heart.

As an opera singer, I've performed as a soloist in the US, Canada, and Italy. Credits include Norma (Clotilde, Norma cover) with Skagit Opera, Don Giovanni (Donna Elvira) with Toronto Summer Opera Workshop, The Student Prince (Princess Margaret, Kathie cover) with Icicle Creek Center for the Arts, Die Zauberflöte (Erste Dame) with the German Vocal Arts Institute, Orlando (Dorinda) with the Opera Siena Young Artist Program, and as a guest artist for the Neil Semer Vocal Institute's Summer Concerts at Villa Medici Giulini in Briosco, Italy.

I've also performed in concert excerpts as Countess Almaviva (Le nozze di Figaro, Seattle Opera Guild previews), in the title role of Anna Bolena (Puget Sound Concert Opera previews), and as Rosalinde (Die Fledermaus, OperaWorks Advanced Artist Program). I was honored to perform in a concert masterclass for internationally acclaimed soprano Deborah Voigt.

I've also shared the stage with numerous drag, burlesque, and variety show performers and love the opportunity to perform opera for new audiences.

Oh, and I love improv.

Contact me

Looking for a soprano for a studio project or live event? For booking inquiries, email me.

To hear about upcoming performances or clips of the latest music, subscribe to my blog.

Listen

Follow me online to hear the latest music:

Photo credit: Danielle Barnum Photography

A bit about my technical background

Previously, I worked as a producer building software training demonstrations for a Seattle startup. In 2019, I left my job to study coding full-time. I am a proud Code Fellows graduate (Certificate in JavaScript) and work as a technical writer for Google. I feel fortunate to work on a team of kind, smart, and empathetic individuals to deliver tools used by people all over the world. You can check out my developer projects on GitHub.