2 min read

Italian odyssey

Italian odyssey
Trastevere neighborhood of Rome

In June of this year, I was very fortunate to be able to spend time studying and performing music in Italy.

While working remotely in Rome for a couple of weeks, I had the immense pleasure of coaching with Sabrina Trojse, a kind, funny, and extremely knowledgeable vocal coach from the Santa Cecilia Conservatory in Rome. A clip of one of our sessions can be found on SoundCloud:

Towards the end of the month, I spent a couple of weeks studying and performing opera at the Neil Semer Vocal Institute at Villa Medici Giulini, in a little town called Briosco. I count myself very lucky to have worked with Neil and each of his collaborators.

The experience was, and still is, hard to describe. But it forced me to be a more vulnerable and honest performer. I loved my time there, the people I got to work with, witnessing the growth of other artists around me, and experiencing my own "mini epiphanies" along the way. Thanks for the recharge, Neil, Jorge, Kim, and Marie-Elise.

Until next time!